DUI

Dutchess County DWI Attorney

Representing NY clients facing DWI charges

Driving while intoxicated is a serious matter in New York State. Courts are quite aggressive towards those who are caught over the legal limit. To determine your impairment, law enforcement will assess your blood alcohol content (BAC). The legal limit depends on the circumstances. If you are arrested for a DWI, you face a misdemeanor. If you are arrested for a subsequent DWI, you face a felony charge. It is important to fight these charges. A DWI is a crime. If you are convicted, you will have a permanent record that can impact your future immensely. If you need effective criminal defense, contact The Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, PC for a consultation.

First offense

If you are charged with a DWI for your first time, you face the following consequences as this crime is a misdemeanor:

  • License revocation for 6 months
  • 1 year of imprisonment
  • $500 – $1,000 fine
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program at cost to you

Second offense

If you have been charged with a second DWI within 10 years of the first, you face a more serious matter as this crime is a class E felony. Some of the consequences include:

  • License revocation for at least a year
  • Up to 4 years of imprisonment
  • $500 – $1,000 fine
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program at cost to you

Under 21?

If you are under 21, it is illegal for you to have alcohol. If you are caught with a BAC of 0.02% or more, you face the following consequences of a first offense:

  • License suspension for 6 months
  • civil fine of $125
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation at cost to you

If you are under 21 and face a second or subsequent DWI, you face the following consequences:

  • A revoked license for 1 year (or until you turn 21 years old)
  • Civil fine of $125
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation at cost to you

Aggravated DWI

An aggravated DWI is when a person is caught with a BAC over 0.18%. These offenders are facing the following consequences:

  • License revocation for at least a year
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment
  • $1,000-$2500 fine
  • Cumulated $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program at cost to you

If you are convicted of a second A-DWI within ten years of the first, you can face the following:

  • License revocation for at least 18 months
  • Up to 4 years of imprisonment
  • Up to $5000 fine
  • Cumulated $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program at cost to you

Contact an experienced DWI law firm

The Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, PC is honored to be of service to individuals in NY. Our firm will fight for your rights when you face a DWI charge. It is important to have quality legal representation when facing criminal charges because a criminal record is permanent and will impact your future. If you need our help, contact The Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, PC for a consultation.