If you’ve been arrested for driving while intoxicated, that means that you were driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or above. If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated in New York State, you are facing serious penalties that may have serious impacts on your life for years down the road. If you are convicted of a first offense DWI, you will face up to 1 year in jail, a 6-month license suspension, multiple fines totaling up to $1750, and potentially being ordered to take part in the New York Drinking Driver Program. In addition, the consequences you face will increase for any subsequent DWI offense.
When you have been arrested for a DWI charge, you will need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can work towards lessening your penalties. Your attorney will look into your case to determine what defenses may be available to work in your favor. Some of the questions that your attorney may pose can include whether the officer had a valid reason to stop you. They will likely look into whether the field sobriety tests were administered properly. Many field sobriety tests are made to fail but an experienced attorney will know what to look for to determine if they were administered incorrectly. There are also a number of other defenses that your attorney can work with depending on the circumstances of your situation.
These defenses may work in the favor of the client if we can find any form of mistake in how the arrest and the tests occurred. If you’ve been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it is crucial to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Contact the Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, P.C. today to schedule a consultation for any criminal defense and personal injury matters.