When a person in New York State becomes injured in an accident, there are a number of steps that must be taken in order to have a successful personal injury lawsuit. The most important initial step that must be taken is to file your personal injury lawsuit within the statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is the deadline by which you must file your lawsuit depending on what type of lawsuit it is.
For injuries sustained in a car accident, a slip and fall, or any other personal injury accident, a person in New York must file their lawsuit within 3 years from the date of their accident. Other situations may be different. For example, if you have sustained an injury or and illness due to medical malpractice, the statute of limitations is different. Victims of medical malpractice must file their personal injury case within 2 years and 6 months from the last day in which you received treatment that was considered malpractice.
As unfortunate as it may be, there are sometimes situations of wrongful death. When this occurs and the family wants to bring a lawsuit on behalf of their deceased loved one, the family must file a lawsuit within 2 years from the date in which the death took place.
It is important to consult with an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as you have become injured in an accident. They can assist you in determining what the next steps should be in preparing to bring a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent party.
Contact the Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, P.C. today to schedule a consultation if you are in need of strong legal representation for any criminal defense and personal injury matters.