Small-Firm Personalized Service With Big-Firm Results.
Photo of Zeidan, Mr. Raji S JD

Underage DUI in New York

On Behalf of | Mar 9, 2018 | Blog, Criminal Law, Firm News |

Across the United States, an individual cannot legally purchase or consume alcohol until they are 21 years of age. When an individual does consume a significant amount of alcohol and then drives with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or greater, they may be facing driving under the influence charges. If an individual who is under 21 and is charged with driving under the influence, they will face even greater penalties than a person who is of age. Underage individuals who have a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent or higher can face DUI consequences.

A first offense underage DUI charge may result in a 6-month license suspension, a civil fine of $125, the potential for enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program and the associated costs, a fee of $100 for suspension termination, and the potential for the installation of an ignition interlock device along with the associated costs.

If an individual is under the age of 21 and has a second or subsequence driving while intoxicated offense, they will face similar yet upgraded consequences. Instead of having a license suspension for only 6 months, it will be suspended for either 1 year or until the individual turns 21 years old, whichever is longer.

If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, contact our firm today.

Contact The Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, PCtoday to schedule a consultation if you are in need of strong legal representation for any of your criminal defense and personal injury matters. We are here to help during your time of need and fight for your future.