Marijuana Possession in New York State

Marijuana laws throughout the country are rapidly changing and the drug is even becoming legalized for recreational use in many states. In New York, however, the recreational use of marijuana is still illegal despite the legalization of medical marijuana. Additionally, marijuana is also considered a Schedule I drug on a federal level, which is the most serious of the options. If charged with the possession of marijuana or possession with the intent to distribute, you are facing serious consequences.

A first offense possession of marijuana charge when the offender has a maximum of 25 grams will result in a $100 fine. However, if the amount of marijuana in the offender’s possession is between 25 grams and 2 ounces, they will be charged with a class B misdemeanor. If convicted, the person will face up to 3 months of jail time and a maximum of $500. Any possession of between 2 and 8 ounces of marijuana are considered Class A misdemeanors and result in up to 1 year in jails as well as a maximum fine of $1,000.

Other possession classifications and their respective penalties include:

  • Class E Felony: Possession of 8-16 ounces results in up to 4 years in jail and a maximum fine of $5,000
  • Class D Felony: Possession of 16 ounces-10 pounds results in up to 7 years in jail and a maximum fine of $5,000
  • Class C felony: Possession of more than 10 pounds results in up to 15 years in jail and a maximum fine of $15,000

If you are charged with the possession of marijuana, you are facing serious consequences and should retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can assist you.

Contact the Law Office of Raji S. Zeidan, P.C. today to schedule a consultation for any criminal defense and personal injury matters.